House Hacking Inner Loop Houston

6 Replies

Does anyone House Hack in the Inner Loop? My girlfriend and I would love to stay inside the loop and raise kids here, but we also hate the idea of paying for our own mortgage. What can I say, we've been indoctrinated. Does anyone do it or know people who do? We personally are most interested in the Museum District, West U, Braes Heights, or Bellaire as my day job is at TMC but I'd love to hear stories from anyone.

I hope someone more qualified to answer your question will reply.  But, for what I know about the areas you are interested in, property values are through the roof!  Very expensive.  But, I do see a lot of development happening.

Have you considered investing and hacking homes outside those areas?  What I love about Houston are all of the duplexes and homes with garage apartments.  You could, certainly, find homes to hack in areas that are just a short drive or short ride by Metro rail, at a fraction of the cost in and around the Medical Center, and the Heights.  Try Northside, the developing parts of 5th Ward and Denver Harbor, Eastside, Sunny Side/Second Ward, South Park, Sunny Side, and Gulfton.  Good Luck!

@Zoabe Hafeez I live in Montrose as a renter. I own property in Rice Village, Heights, etc. If you were focused on house hacking, but also getting a great property to live in I would try and find a home in Montrose, Rice Village, Rice Military, etc. that has a garage apartment (sometimes these are 2 story duplexes so size can be large). You can either choose to live in the larger unit or live in the smaller one and have someone else pay higher rent.