San Antonio mulit family rental investment - which area is better

25 Replies

Hello Everyone,

I am a newbie investor  looking for multi family properties in San Antonio,TX. Found a rehabbed one (old home) near Randolph AFB next to windcrest where there is a STEM school . 

I am not aware of the area but the Cap rate and good price is too good to pass.

I am looking for a decent cash flow but at the same time need good tenants and don't want to go through any roughness since I am out of state investor and there is going to be a property mgr taking care. Any advice ,suggestions on areas  need to focus will be appreciated.

Thanks

Mila

Mila,

Be careful and make sure to get accurate rental comps, some agents have a tendency to list properties with inflated rents. It's hard to find a true deal when searching for multifamily properties on the open MLS in San Antonio right now. That's not to be said that they don't come available from time to time, but when they do, they go quickly. If a property has been sitting for any length of time, you have to wonder why.

I would take a look at the West side of town near Bandera and 1604, there's a couple of different turnkey duplex subdivisions in that area. B- 1% deals come up from time to time and they have both the rents and the tenant class you're looking for. I would try and stick to the North, West, and some area's in the NE. Downtown San Antonio (Tobin Hill, Alta Vista, Beacon Hill, Woodlawn Lake, Dignowity Hill etc.) are great locations if you're looking for value-add opportunities.

Good luck moving forward and reach out if you need anything. 

Thank you Andrew and Sterling for the timely response! Appreciated..