Protest property tax assessment

13 Replies | San Antonio, Texas

I just got the 2019 assessment for a tri-plex that I bought in SA last year. Last years assessment was 93k and they want to jack it up to 116k for this year. The purchase price that I payed last May was 104k, but when I look at the filed deed, it shows only $10. There are no other tri-plexes in the area that have sold within the last year to compare to.

The increase feels excessive, but I have no experience in protesting assessments. What value would you recommend I should shoot for and with what argumentation?

@Simon Stahl  yes we have all felt huge increases - guess that’s why we are investing here! I have been able to contest my hikes to some degree by showing my Hud statement. Yours shows $104k purchase so that’s a start. Then they will ask you if you did any improvements. They use google maps to check. If you did say put $10k in it then you really don’t have much to contest if their appraisal is $116k. I bought one for $160k and they appraised it the next year for $220k. I was able to get it lowered to $190k. Good luck!

you can contest but using your 10$ deed wont cut it, youll need to show your hud or other proof for purchase of property. and at 104 you could really only contest at the areas or neighborhoods overall appreciation rate, lets say its 3% YoY and you bought it at 104k then it should only be appraised at most 107k

If your property has any issues, make sure you get pictures of them and use that as evidence.  I'd also call them and find out what comps they're using.  You could also contact a property tax consultant to protest it for you but most charge a flat fee plus pct of tax savings if they are able to get a reduction.  

Hey @Simon Stahl ,