Property Management Costs

10 Replies

I've been studying the Dallas, Tx market and surrounding areas.  I'm looking at buying some single family homes in the area.  I'm not sure what a typical property management company charges there.  Does anyone happen to know the average cost or percentage per month?  Also, if you recommend any particular company that information would be greatly appreciated as well.  

Thank you!  (I'm just starting out).

Average seems to be 8-10% of income. Most PM software allows you to select which accounts management fees apply to.

Nationwide, the management fee ranged from 6-12 percent, with 8-10 percent most common.

@Brittney Johnson I may have a bit of a jaded view being a property manager but I would focus on Value over Cost. 

There may be PM's in the area that charge a lower fee but may not be as accessible for your questions or may not respond as quickly to your prospective renters. 

@Jim Murray is right. From what I have observed in the CT and NY markets the property management companies that do charge the ever so enticing 5-8% generally do not have as good communication with investors, and will also up charge / fee the owner to death. Example, a toilet backs up and a plumber bills the PM company $100. The PM company will then bill the owner $120, thus making a $20 spread for essentially "managing" the calling of the plumber. 

There is value in finding a PM that is easy to reach, communicates well, can accurately do the books, and finds good tenants. I am a property manager, however, so I am also a bit biased. 

Good luck!

@Filipe Pereira Sometimes us property managers get a bad rap so we need to stick together!

I see the same price gauging in my area on maintenance too.

Thank you for all the feedback!  Much appreciated.  

@Brittney Johnson