Austin 2018 - Neighborhoods, Short Term Rentals?

18 Replies | Austin, Texas

I'm considering investing in Austin in 2018. I'm relatively new to the market.  A few questions: 

1. What areas do you consider up-and-coming? 

2. What are your expectations on regulation of AirBNB and other short term rentals? 

3. Expectations on rental value increase? 

4. Would you go for new build or existing? 

Thanks for the help! 

Hey William,

1. In general, ifyou could stand on Congress Ave. (our Main St) and throw a rock 25 miles in any direction you will likely see, at least, a little bit of appreciation. But if you’re looking for reasonable prices, $250 or less, with room to appreciate, ina solid area with good schools and job opportunities... I would suggest looking into the Hutto and Round Rock areas just North of Austin. They are both doing A LOT to increase the amenities and traffic (the good money spending kind of traffic)in their cities. Hutto; https://wclife.org/ & Round Rock; http://www.austin360.com/

2. To own and advertise a Short-Term Rental in the Austin area is notoriously difficult. I don't say that to discourage you but I would be very careful about building a business plan based on STR's within the city of Austin https://austintexas.gov/. I will leave it at that as I do not own any STR's and would rather differ that question to BP members who currently have solid STR cash flow models within Austin.

3. Rental rates will likely appreciate with the market (though we are seeing a slowing in appreciation throughout Austin and the surrounding cities). However, if its cash flow your looking for with a decent (ROI 8%+) your best bet is to once again get outside of the city. A 30-minute drive North, South, or East will offer better opportunities.