Austin Vs Suburbs (RR, Leander, Cedar park, Pfuglerville)

21 Replies | Austin, Texas

I am new to BP and looking to buy my first investment property in Austin. Currently I have 1 investment property in San Diego and few in Pontiac Michigan. 

I am confused between main Austin Vs suburbs like Round Rock, leander, Cedar park etc. I was looking at some condo's near south congress like http://www.coopervillas.com or https://www.grangewestgate.com/ or https://www.settlersoco.com/ Vs buying a SFR in one of these suburbs.

From a Rent to Price perspective there is not much difference between the two. Are there other pros and cons that I should look into? 

@Aditya Namjoshi it depends on the hoa fees associated with the condo's.  The core of the city is appreciating close to 9% annually. The suburbs are varied depending upon location but not even remotely close to the core appreciation rates. I am all about the core of the city if I can make it cash flow. I have 3 houses in the core of the city with partners. One is cash flowing nicely. The one in 78704 won't unless we add value, which we are, through an adu/granny flat. The other one is an short term rental which we are about to sell. The core of the city prices are so high that its hard to cash flow. I am buying a house in hutto but that will be probably be a flip. Those three condos communities are in good locations. I hope that you are getting a good deal on them!  

i would never buy in the city, especially a condo unless you have an ulterior motive or are buying your cash flow through down payment. If you run the numbers the high taxes/hoa dues do not work for rentals 95% of the time when compared to rents. 

I like the outlying areas. Specifically CP, Leander, N Austin, etc... Better deals, less taxes, less hoa fees, higher demand due to affordability.

Msg me for more details. I can show you a few properties that fit my investment criteria that would work for you.

Danny Webber, MBA, Broker