• Rental Property Investor
  • Fremont, CA
Votes |
Evaluating rentals criterias in Austin area

Tony Lin
  • Fremont, CA
Posted Dec 28 2020, 12:35

Hi there, I'm new to Austin SFH investments so not very familiar with the right values to put for projections. I'm mainly looking for long-term appreciation (5-10 years hold) and OK with some negative cashflow in order to get long term appreciation. Can the more experienced members help checkout if some of my preset and rent/appreciation assumptions are reasonable?

User Stats

Votes
Nina Hayden
Pro Member
  • Dallas, Austin
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Dallas, Austin
Replied Dec 28 2020, 13:28

Make ready needs to be higher.  I haven’t gotten away with make ready being less than 1500 because of painting alone!  Also interest rates seem too low, but I’ve not needed to take a loan for my investment properties so I can’t tell you. Only one of my properties has a loan and it’s in the 4.25 range I think. I can’t remember.  And that was with 30% down. Management fee needs to be 10%.  Selling cost 6%.  Last but not least, don’t know where you will find a property for 300k right now that will yield 2k rent.  

User Stats

Votes
Nina Hayden
Pro Member
  • Dallas, Austin
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Dallas, Austin
Replied Dec 28 2020, 13:34

Ok, correction on the interest rates and yours is fine. I obviously bought before interests went down but it makes no sense for me to refi right now.  I have lender that’s telling me 3.125%. Not bad!  

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find Investor-Friendly Agents in Austin Work with an agent who understands your needs as an investor and helps you find the best deals.

User Stats

Votes
Tony Lin
  • Fremont, CA
Votes |
  • Fremont, CA
Replied Dec 28 2020, 14:45

Thanks for the suggestions!

User Stats

Votes
Calvin Sam
  • Santa Monica, CA
Votes |
  • Santa Monica, CA
Replied Dec 28 2020, 14:52

@Tony Lin Also a Texas-focused investor based in the Bay Area, CA.