Financing for foreigners buying in the USA

12 Replies

What is the minimum down payment required if you are a non-US resident? I have been looking into US turnkey properties but am getting the impression that my only option is to rely on non-recourse lending. This would require a minimum of 25%- 30% down and the interest rate is often very high - minimum 8%.

I am a Canadian resident and was hoping to obtain conventional financing through a Canadian bank with operations in the US. Royal Bank of Canada has such an option. What I was thinking of doing was to put  a 10% down payment on a US turnkey property and finance the rest of it with a conventional mortgage.

Is such an option even possible? and what restrictions are there exactly for foreigners?

I feel the non-recourse lending route makes the cost of investing far too high.

For Canadians, the only bank who will lend at conventional rates and down payment is TD Bank.  They will do one loan at 20% down, with rates at 4-4.5%.  You'll not find anyone to do 10%.  BMO and RBC will only do 35%-40% down.  Oh and the property must appraise >$100K.  

@Chad Urbshott is correct. 

I am also a Canadian from Toronto and getting conventional financing is a mere wishful thinking in the US. The best I could get is 35% down and 7.25% amoritzed for 30 years...

And this lender will only lend for properties in Kansas City.....

Every other lender I met told me 40% and above but for less tenors.

You may go the TD way.....Looks like the closed option but the minimum is 100k

my one cent!

Meant "closest " option...

Pardon my typo...

We have a lender who will do 25% down or less, 30yr loan fully amortized, 7.75% rate. 

Will lend in several markets.

Originally posted by @Chad Urbshott :