Dallas Ft.Worth Direct Mail LOW??

9 Replies

Hello, I bumped into a lady today and she said she runs an REICLUB in DFW. I asked her what her response rate is for direct mail. She said that if she does a 1,000 postcards she would get maybe 2-3 calls. Those numbers don't sound right to me! I would expect the traditional 1-2% or 10-20 calls. Is direct mail still working in the DFW market or has it become so over saturated with mailers that the response rate is very low? Thank You!

@Leo Lanza I'm not an expert in the direct mail game but I'll take a stab at answering.  In the "best" markets you're going to have a lot more competition, people building lists, sending out mailers, etc. so it's easier for owner to write them off as snail mail spam.  The DFW market is also going great at the moment so there's probably less "distressed owners" as in west Texas or other markets.  If there isn't distress (pick your reason) and you want to sell, why not just go the traditional route?  This same style of thread (i.e. low mailer response rates) has been talked about for Orange County and San Diego.  Net result, if DFW response rates are low it's likely a response to the desirability of the market.

@Andrew Johnson I'm a Realtor in DFW and I'm checking the mls multiple times a day. Once I find a deal I immediately go to the property and submit my offer. I've submitted 17offers and not one has been accepted. I'm also an Electrician and successfully rehabbed a property, so I'm confident in my rehab costs. I subtract my profit 10% of ARV sales price - rehab -fixed costs to come up with my offer price. I guess my next question is if MLS is too tight and direct mail isn't working how should I go about finding properties? Should I increase my direct mail list from 3,000 postcard/month?