Successful experience sharing

14 Replies

Dear all, I have been stuck on my 1st investment property for a while. I have been working with my realtor to source SFH for several months. Either the properties I am satisfied with went too fast or my realtor recommend me the low coc return ‘nice’ home (1-2% coc return). He is a nice guy but i guess he is too conservative. I told him for me cash flow first and then appreciation, but things still go on the same track. Could you share how did you make your first successful case as a foreigner and what’s the tricks to commute with realtor? Appreciate it in advance.

This post has been removed.

@Brandon Zeng the good ones will go fast.  In our Texas market it is not unusual for them to go within a day or two.  You may need to figure out a way to act quickly.   We try to see them same day and write offers the same day for our clients.  Often within hours of them coming online.

Your realtor may be trying to keep you out of trouble and reduce your pain and return. You need to ask them #1 if they have investment properties and what kinds of returns they are getting. Everyone has a different philosophy as to what works. For me I don't always think COC is king. That's me. I've seen many different approaches work.... high COC often means in my market older properties....like 1940-50-1960s...and in class C neighborhoods. Vacancy might be longer, more turnover, more evictions, more turnover repairs....but rent vs purchase price for your COC might be higher....than for example newer, nicer properties, in better school districts.