How to get better at analysis

9 Replies | Seattle, Washington

I'm very new to REI and I'm having trouble understanding how to think about the numbers and evaluate a property. I have it on my "business plan" to run numbers for 50 potential properties, but that won't help me if I can't determine if I'm doing it correctly. What is the best way to get your numbers "checked"?

I have read the advice of joining a local REIA in my area (Seattle). There are a few. Does anyone have recommendations or thoughts on which of them are the most active.

Thanks in advance!

Originally posted by @Marc Luzuriaga :

Have you run the numbers in the BP calculator yet? The tools are pretty handy, post up what you have and I'm sure you'll have people chiming in. 

Yes, but it requires you to know/guess your rehab costs and ARV, which again, I have zero feel for. They also have a lot of other numbers that I don't have any idea how to find. And I don't think the forum would appreciate me uploading 50 trial analyses. Even I would be annoyed by me...

Hi Elaine,

It can definitely be a daunting task analyzing properties, especially if you're new to the process. Having a feel for the numbers is something many investors rely on and usually comes from years of experience. When practicing, don't worry so much about becoming accurate with the numbers, be more concerned with learning the process and calculations. The ARV will perhaps be the easiest and closest thing to which you'll have data for. Look at what's selling around the property you're analyzing. Find similar properties (what we call comps or comparables) based on square footage, lot size, bedrooms, bathrooms, age, etc. and use those as your ARV.