Looking to purchase in Milwaukee

12 Replies

Hey guys, I am fairly new to biggerpockets, and have been studying and learning on here for about 2 months, and am finally ready to try and start investing. I live right outside of Madison, and I just purchased my first rental property in Beloit (closing in November), and am interested in getting into the Milwaukee area. I am just looking around to see if there is anyone on here who is active in that area who might have some valuable information and some tips? I don't really know good areas from bad areas, and I am also skeptical about finding a reliable property manager over there. I would be most interested in creative financing opportunities, and possibly partnerships. I also do not know anything of the rental market. My wife and I plan to take a drive over there in a couple of weeks to try to get a better sense of the neighborhoods, and try to understand what the market is like. 

If anyone has any useful information that they wouldn't mind sharing, I would greatly appreciate it! You can PM me here on bigger pockets if you want to talk. Thanks!

Welcome to BP and congrats on the first purchase. I would suggest adding your photo on your profile. It will help get you more responses IMO. 

What are your goals by investing in Milwaukee?  Buy and Hold? Are you looking to buy below market value and rehab? What kind of neighborhood are you willing to invest in?  Price point?

I was just trying to get some more specifics from you so you can get some productive feedback. There’s a lot of helpful and knowledgeable folks on BP from Milwaukee. 

Feel free to ask about any neighborhoods or properties if you have anything in mind. 

I think your skepticism on finding a good property manager is well warranted. I’m sure there are some good ones out there.  I don’t know of any myself. I would be very hesitant to buy in lower income areas if you aren’t prepared to self manage. Good luck.