Anyone else in Madison doing buy and hold?

10 Replies

Looking for other Madison investors to network with!  

Yep. We have 2 buildings we've been renting since 2001.

East side and North side.

I am! I have one duplex on the east side so far, and hope to buy another one in the next year. I'm always looking for people to network and chat with about real estate.

I have been buying in/around Madison for the last 5 years, and with a short break do to a large amount of work travel have been able to pick up 2-3 buildings a year.  I haven't sold anything yet, and go into each acquisition with a ~10 year plan so I count that as "Buy-and-Hold"  

I have thought of doing some flips, but I'm not particularly handy and once I find a quality property I have a hard time letting go of it.  I guess I'm a bit of a hoarder. :)

Would enjoy connecting.

@Paul Haviland I'm pretty new to part-time Real Estate Investing. I recently purchase my first buy and hold property a few months ago as an owner-occupied duplex with conventional financing up in the Fox Valley area. 

I have an interest in investing in the Madison area, since I usually spend my weekends there, so I'm curious what methods you are using to be able to purchase 2-3 properties a year?

My wife and I bought a 2-unit in November near East High, owner-occupied. We're hoping to buy more properties over the next several years.

@ Dave Wilson

My pace has been dictated by two limiting factors

1. Down Payments

2. Finding Good Deals

My goal is to acquire positive cash-flowing properties while utilizing as much leverage as possible (these two forces act in opposite directions - often, more leverage = less cashflow).  By increasing my leverage, I have been able to maintain reserve requirements and ultimately save for more down payments.