Get in Get out Get paid

12 Replies

So I am brand new to RE and looking for a supplemental income, then hopefully to quit my corporate job. Because of these goals, I attended a free seminar by Todd Dotson.

The info he provided seemed logical enough, I certainly had fup questions, but the assumption that they would be answered if I signed up for his "training" program. It is a 3 day event for basically $1k, Not a huge amount to lose if it doesn't pan out, but I was wondering if anyone has gone through the training and if it was worth it. I'm torn between getting off the ground running by myself, or hoping that the promises he gave to the group will actually yield returns.....thoughts?

@Mr Gier It sounds like you need to jump on the forums and listen to the podcast.  Listen to @Joshua Dorkin  discuss is opinion on paying for education.  Attend your local RIEA and network with other investors and save your $1000.  There is so much information you can gather on this site as well as read books from several authors on this very site.  Ken McElroy, J Scott, Brandon Turner, and Frank Gallinelli.  Read the Ultimate Beginner's Guide to Real Estate Investing.  What is going to be your investing strategy?

Investing strategy....The wholesaling approach is what struck a chord with me. I personally know someone who has a distress property and is willing to sell at far less than market value just to dump it, so I was thinking about that as my guinea pig.

In a perfect world, I would make a few sales wholesaling so I would have cash to close and rent for steady cash flow and/or contract the rehab work myself. I know several in the industry and could cut deals readily.