Becoming a "sophisticated investor"

6 Replies

I am new to REI, and I am wondering if starting out in multi-family is for me. My net worth is not close a million dollars, but if I don't spend (waste?) money on someone's educational program, I have several thousand dollars more to put towards this potential first investment. Are local REI clubs the best place to meet MF investors, and how do I know when I'm educated enough not to get taken advantage of? Also, is there some regulation requiring me to be a "sophisticated investor" before I can passively invest in a multi-family deal? Is there some way I can meet this requirement without paying thousands of dollars up front for this education? Can anyone shed some light on this and/or provide some personal experience. I feel like MF would be the best potential return on my investment but I'm not looking to be naïve or get in over my head either.

@Chris Jones  you don't have to be a millionaire to be a sophisticated investor. But, the annual income requirement is high. See this Wikipedia article for details. You don't need to be a sophisticated investor or an accredited one to get into multifamily real estate.

From 1-4 units its not really different than buying any other kind of house. Anything in excess of four units is generally considered commercial real estate.

To invest in someone else's "real" multi-family (5+ units - but probably much bigger) deal with a syndication (multiple investors), you generally need to be known to the managing member/partner (family or friend), an accredited investor (the $1M stuff), or a "sophisticated" investor.