Bigger Pockets vs Scott Yancey

7 Replies

Hello I'm new to this and very excited to get started, but I want to know opinions of the best way to proceed.  I signed up for the Scott Yancey thing and attended the first 2 days of the 3 day weekend.  I soon found out that they wanted a big investment to teach me how to be an investor, but I could see they were using all the tricks in the book and lots of pressure to get people to drop 30K to attend their investment summit in Las Vegas.  Has anyone gone through this Summit and or are there any advantages in doing this?  Can I get the same guidance through Bigger Pockets?

@Cynthia Rathbone  

welcome to the site. Save your money you do not need to attend the expensive guru seminars. All of the information & more can be found here on the site.

My group attended a Guru seminar recently, take a look at the forum I started about our experience HERE I think you will find the content in the forum interesting. 

James Wise, Real Estate Agent in OH (#2015001161)
216-661-6633

@Cynthia Rathbone  

bigger pockets is generally anti guru... If you do not want to work your way up in the business and want to pay for instant success, then you may want to look for more of one on one type of paid mentors... these free for all guru events are full of information but very hard to cram what would take you years to learn into a 3 day weekend.

BP has a bunch of regular investors that share their investing theories and stories and some of this may help you and its free.. really depends on your learning style... Me personally I have no patience to listen to pod cast or that type of thing I am one who needs to learn by doing...

So for me doing was to get my RE license and start to sell real estate learn there then moved into investing once I understood what investing was.. and I made money while I was learning..