Basement rental conversion in Washington DC (dig-out)

15 Replies

I'm looking to convert my Brookland DC row house basement to a legal rental unit , I was wondering if anyone has done this, what was the cost?

My ceiling height is 6'2 in the front and 7'5 in the back of the house, so I know I'll need to do a dig-out.   Any input, suggestions or recommendations (Architect, Contractor, etc.) that the BP forum may have for me moving forward with my basement conversion project would be great for me and anyone else with the same question here on the forum. 

Please feel free to inbox me with contacts 

Thanks

Ricardo

Hello Ricardo,

My name is Sean, I am a contractor in New England. Maybe there something I can help you with?

The dig out is not horrible, but you will need to dig some test pits to see how far you foundation goes. If it doesn't go down far enough, you may need to underpin the foundation which is costly. Also to make it legal, you need to make sure you have sufficient egress, fire separation between upstairs and downstairs and technically you need entirely separate mechanical/plumbing/electrical systems. You may also need sprinklers, but I'm not exactly sure when you do and when you don't anymore.

@Dan Robinson Thanks so much for your reply, I already have  one form of egress (outside door) but I may need another one.  Your right I will need a separate electrical system being that the current one is down there already (needs to be moved). I hope I don't have to underpin and, I don't know about the sprinkler system (never show one in a basement conversion) but I'll find out.

Thanks again

@Sean Babischkin Have you worked in DC before with DCRA? being that your in New England and all.

DC will require you to have 2 egresses, so you will need another door, or larger windows (with no bars).  If it's a row-house, you will need to notify your neighbors and get sign off, and I think you need at least 7 feet to make it a legal rental.