New Investor looking for advice and guidance

7 Replies

Hello All,

I have decided to start investing in real estate in the St. Petersburg area. I currently live near downtown and absolutely love the city. I have some funds saved up to be able to start small. From some of the research I have done it seems like a lot of people recommend doing a flip first before purchasing a buy and hold in effort to build more capital. Do you all agree with that method? Also any advice or direction you can provide is much appreciated! I have been a long time observer of the market as I often research the inventory in my spare time but am just now deciding to get my feet wet. I am new at this so I am sure I will make mistakes but would love to hear any wisdom you have to share. 

Shawn

I don't think flipping is necessarily a better way to start than buy and hold. Though many people follow that path out of necessity - as a way to build capital on the front end.

If you already have a full time job, flipping can be extremely tough. On the other hand, if you have some money saved up, and solid W-2 income, buying a small rental property couldn't be easier with 25% down (which is the typically down payment requirement for a conventional loan). 

Ultimately, it all depends on your current financial situation and future goals. 

Message me or email me and I'll be happy to share some resources on the local area. 

You may have to dig a bit and network like crazy but St. Pete is full of opportunity right now in just about any niche you want to tackle.

Flips can be good but beware scope creep and capital gains, they're capital killers.  Remember, ultimately flipping is a job, you finish one and you need to find another, and another, ad nauseum.

Have you considered a small multi-family house hack that you can live in and rehab?  Many find great success with that and it can really set you up for the next move into something similar or even larger.