Buffalo Duplex Multifamily Rehab Estimates

10 Replies

Hi folks.  I'm just trying to get a supremely Ball Park rehab figure for the City of Buffalo for a Rehabbed Duplex.

It's actually in really good shape, so no real demo.  Needs new roof, 3 piers replaced for the Addition, and 5 poles replaced in the basement.  Otherwise, for both units, its pretty much new flooring throughout, new kitchen, new bathroom, outside paint job, and restoring porches on both levels.  New windows mostly throughout.  New doors mostly through out.  Thats it, its largely cosmetic.

With that said, would you say $50,000 is a big enough budget? I can go higher, but I'm trying to enter the property with equity and do a BRRRR.

Is 50k enough to do the above, or will I nees more?  It's okay if I do.  I just don't want the contractors to eat up all my equity because I'm a newb.

Updated 6 months ago

Revision 2: See my next post.

Updated 6 months ago

Revision: The second estimate is actually $123,045

Alex..... 50K could be more than enough.... or it could be no where near what you need...

My first question is why did the poles need to be replaced?  age, or something else wrong?

Piers being replaced sounds like drainage problems... Porches on both levels could be expensive, especially on older buildings. 

Also if you are a green newbie as you state, contractors will see right thru you, get several estimates for all jobs.. it's worth it to you. Take your time. 

Another question did you check out the rent for the area or just believe the sellers numbers.. also vacancy rate in the area.. this could make your investment go from a winner to a loser... 

Beside the updates and problems that you mentioned, how is the wiring, plumbing, furnace, etc... I stopped buying in the city due to "tube and post" wiring , old corroded plumbing and of course age of the properties... (doesn't mean you shouldn't).