City of Syracuse Roofing Question

2 Replies

Recently acquired a property in the City of Syracuse that needs a new roof, but I'm getting mixed responses from roofing companies about operating in the city and the steepness of the roof.

Anyone have a recent roof done in city limits? Who are your go-to roofers for rental properties inside city limits?

I see Van Derhoof Roofing and The Roofing Guys all the time during the summer. Both attack jobs pretty aggressively. Not uncommon to see them complete a job in a day or two, literally. We had an early start to winter this year. So that may affect you a bit right now.

Mike, obviously I am a contractor and do roofs in Syracuse. Not trying to solicit myself here as we're too busy but just want to give credence to my response. Most roofs in Syracuse were built using what's called skip sheathing. It's essentially barn board that is gapped a few inches and over this typically cedar shingles were installed. 

Over the last 100+ years of these properties being in Syracuse no one wanted to strip the roofs because they ALL need new plywood so what you end up seeing is $20-$40k roofs. The excessive layers of roofing take DAYS to strip. There are hundreds of nails per sq/ft because of all of the layers of roofing and your shovel can barely move when stripping. On top of that the houses are close and you can't get dump trailers or dumpsters on all sides of the houses so there is a ton of clean up on the ground.