Real Estate Attorney & CPA

2 Replies

I am looking for a good attorney and CPA who has great experience in Lower Westchester for buy and holds of 3-4 unit houses. 

Any suggestions? 

What should I look for when choosing either one of these 2 professionals

Hi @Shanel Wiggins ,

Let me provide a disclaimer by first telling you that I'm a real estate attorney, and my firm does a lot of work in both residential and commercial, as well as for both owners and investors. That being said, I think there are a few things you should look out for when picking an attorney (I don't know so much about CPAs, but I'm assuming you'd want similar qualities).

1a. Regular and thorough communication. No matter how good of a lawyer someone is, no matter what results they can get for you, if they don't provide good communication, you're going to constantly be worried about your deal. Is it going well? Is it going poorly? Why isn't my attorney responding to my calls/emails? Regular communication, to me, is the most important quality (along with 1b) a good attorney can provide.

1b. Honesty. A lot of an attorney's job involves aspects that require the utmost level of honesty. Whether it's handling your personal/business bank account information, having access to your funds, knowing your social security number, or just having to deliver bad news, you want someone to be honest.  I think this is actually tied with number 1, which is why I marked it 1b.

2. Personal relationship. As I mentioned above, your attorney has a lot of personal access, and it's someone you need to be able to trust. There's a reason we're called counselors, and it's because our job is to provide counsel. It's helpful to look for an attorney who has a high level of empathy, who can put themselves in your shoes, knows exactly what you're going to be worried about before you're worried about it, and counsels you on how to proceed. This ties into good communication.