Richmond Neighborhood Query

8 Replies

Hello All,

I am new to investing in the Richmond area and new to Richmond, VA. I was wondering what are some of the neighborhoods in the city like? What are the areas to stay away from? Low- and High-income areas? Popular areas? Etc...

@Joedocei Hill Richmond has an extremely diverse slate of neighborhoods across the metro area, from the old-school row-homes of the Fan and Museum Districts, to the suburbs of Short Pump and Chesterfield, to the country lifestyle of Hanover. Within that, just a few blocks difference can be a world apart.

One great thing about Richmond is that many neighborhoods are very popular, but for extremely different reasons. Outdoors, good schools, shopping, dining, arts, etc. The diversity of Richmond makes it beg the question what are you looking for? That should guide you. 

@Joedocei Hill ,

I 100% agree with @William Webb , you need to determine what you are looking for, A/B/C/D neighborhood,   and then we can help point you in the right direction!   If you're looking for CF or appreciation, flip or rental.   I don't think there's any areas to stay away from,  because it's all specific to your business plan if it's a good fit or not.    In general Short Pump, Midlothian,  Western Henrico and Hanover county are where a lot of $$$$$, and anything near the courts-- mosby court, fairmouth (sp?), gilpin court, etc.. those will be the lowest and cheapest  because crime is the highest.