PC or Mac?

14 Replies

sounds like a difficult question for some but most of you have it down which one is better? PC or Mac? What are the benefits of each with differ nets programs to track expenses or analyze deals? Does either have a better setup for keeping track of rental expenses, fix ups, or wholesales? What's your opinions?

I'm considering the purchase of a new computer, mine is 12 years old and I rarely use it for anything but quicken for personal finances. I'm a newbie and could use your experience! Thanks BP!

no quicken on Mac. I use excel instead. PC or  Mac will work fine.  I use Mac cause I do a lot of photo editing. 

Most programs I've come across are either web based or use Microsoft excel. I'm sure you can use them on both a PC and a Mac. I think it really just comes down to how much you want to spend. An entry level PC starts at around $400. A basic macbook starts at around $1000. I personally carry a Microsoft Surface tablet. It's portable enough and runs all the apps I would ever need for analyzing deal and running numbers. 

You can get a used Macbook Air for ~$600. Install Libreoffice (Openoffice). Or better yet, use Google Apps.

Or if you're not doing any significant creative work, just get a Chromebook.

I use a MacBook Pro so that I can do the creative when I need to and for the longevity and low/no maintenance and no extra security software.

I also have a windows desktop, but I used it so little that I converted it to a home theater PC.

It is almost time for me to upgrade my laptop. I probably have a year or two left. I'm not exactly sure which direction I am going to go with all the mobile computing options. My goal is to be as mobile and light as possible using cloud and web based services whenever possible.