What would you do with this kitchen?

16 Replies

The layout is a little goofy and not a lot of light.  I think it needs a window put in and things rearranged.  Penny for your thoughts?

@Brent Paul

Wow, a fridge basically in the middle of all the cabinets.

If your ARV and budget allows, gut it and put in a more friendly layout. You could put lipstick on a pig by painting the cabinets, changing the countertops , and get new SS appliances, and new flooring. But your layout is going to put off some people.

I wouldn't waste money putting in a window if it's a flip. 

This will be turned into a rental and likely not a flip.  But it will be a few years because of the other projects I have to finish as well.

My budget is 10k max which will allow me a lot of wiggle room.

My realtor said based on comps I definitely won't lose money on this house.  But I am not interested in selling at this point.   I will be doing all the work with help from my dad.  He is a carpenter by trade.   

That is a goofy layout. Are you spending $10k on just the kitchen, or the entire renovation? For $10k I could have the layout changed, window in and new cabinets and counters.

Definitely a stupid layout, but I'd do nothing. 
The hip thing is to have the sink or stove in the island with barstools around it. 
If you are deadset on a window. Put the sink where the fridge is with a window there. Put fridge where stove is and put stove either in island or where sink is. 
If sink is currently on an exterior wall, just cut in a window, and flip-flop stove and fridge and add cabinets in the empty space.
That on wouldn't require as much money.

Just because you have the money and comps can support a remodel, that doesn't mean you should do it.
If it helps find an awsome tenant, or the rental comps have a better kitchen, do it.
If not, leave it as-is.  

If it's a rental I'd do nothing.