Investing Far East Side Indianapolis

19 Replies

Hi all,

I am new to real estate investing and looking to invest in Indianapolis. I have been going out for a few months searching for properties and I am looking at a specific property on the Far East side and considering putting in an offer. Although I have driven the neighborhood during the day and it seemed okay, I'm getting some worrisome information online and my agent says the neighborhood "isn't the best but isn't the worst" and to "do my research" which I feel is a vague way of saying it's not great.

I’m okay with a low-income area but I don’t want to buy a place in a D neighborhood either. 

So what are your thoughts on Far East side rental properties in 2020? 

@Amanda Galloway I might recommend posting this in the Indiana state forum.  You'll probably get a few more local responses rather than some guy in Texas blabbing away about it. Just a thought.

Hello Amanda, i currently own 4 properties in this zip and in the last 4 years I have owned 8 total. I also have many friends that own properties there. The area has been amazing for me and my friends. Low prices and high rents. I highly recommend it! Ive been told by my former PM to stay above 38th street, but I own two below and they haven't given me any issues yet.

We have found that Indianapolis is more of "pocket" investment location - it isn't so much related to the area as it is more street-by-street. Make sure your comps are where you want them (your realtor should be able to assist with running the numbers to make sure the value is there for that neighborhood, if they haven't already). We've been finding that homes are appreciating well within the last 2-3 years on the east-side. Even if you choose to sell your rental property after some time - you should fair well there, too.

Best of luck to you!!