Good deal or not- mold

8 Replies

Could I get opinions on this property?

Sale price right now of 12k. Potential rent could be 600-750.

Haven't got an estimate on rehab yet. But is this deal worth it. ARV could be 80-90k

I has been abandoned for a few years mold through out. Almost definitely redoing everything. I will try to add a photo.

if you're new at this, and know there's mold throughout, walk away.  It's a big, ugly, expensive job. 

If you decide to go for it, make sure the company you use to remediate, has been at it a while and offers a transferable, lifetime warranty.  

Sure.  I was a newbie when I took on one of these.  In the future, would think twice about anything but minor surface mold.  This stuff is ugly and it's costly to fix if you're working on a tight reno budget.  And it can come back if you don't get it all the first time.

We looked at a few over the years & those we know who have jumped in, admitted they had to take out all the HVAC venting & then stripped some of it to the studs to get behind the drywall. I wouldn't even enter one without a respirator/mask (if you can find one).

@Dominique Mitchell

If you can get an estimate of mold remediation and rehab for a cost of $50,000 or less then it's worth it. It's a big job, but after your done and the ARV came to $90,000 and you can find a bank to refinance you at 75% ARV you have a property with no money in. You would have just completed a successful BRRRR.

Baby steps, get a deal that will get your feet wet mold for an extended period of time is tough.  You can treat it if it's on certain surfaces with a spray but my guess is you're dealing with something much more serious then that if it's been uninhabited for a couple years.