BRRRR Method/Hard Money Lender

12 Replies

I am trying to get into real estate investing. I was recently exposed to the BRRRR Method and I am currently shopping around for lenders. I have some money I would like to use to start, but not a significant amount. Do you have any suggestions for lenders, consultants, or realtors in the Philadelphia area.

If you’ve ever went through the process, can you share your experience?

Feel free to DM me as well!

i am a former accountant.  I think think the best way is to first educate yourself using courses, books or the everything BiggerPockets has to offer.  It will provide you with a good game plan.

It's awesome you're taking steps towards getting your first BRRRR deal! I was in that boat last year and wrote down every HML I could find and called every one of them... Unfortunately I quickly learned that it's really tough to get started when you don't have any experience. Last year, during COVID, nobody would lend to me since I didn't have any experience. I had to save up my own funds in order to BRRRR my first property on my own without lenders. Certainly tough, but it got it done.

If you're not in a position where you can save up your own funds, your best bet might be to just put yourself out there in the RE community to see if anybody would be willing to partner with you. In exchange, do the grunt work that nobody else wants to do. Don't ask for equity in the deal, just take it on as a learning experience. Then once you've done that a few times, you can take your experience and the connections you've built during that time to a hard money lender and they might be more willing to lend to you. 

@Irfan Raza

Hi Irfan, thank you for sharing. After being in accounting for some time, we probably have similar interest in leaving Corporate America and investing. I would love to hear more about your experience with Realestate investing.

@Tucker Cummings