What is too much for a beginner in the BRRRR strategy?

16 Replies

I am a beginner in real estate and have a good amount of cash ready to BRRRR. I am currently looking at a property in Detroit Michigan for $7k because it obviously needs repair, the seller says it should be about $25-30k in repairs and if that were the case I would still have a solid amount in reserves in case of emergency.

I have a rule that if it has foundational issues it’s not worth it. Assuming there is no foundational issues would you advise a beginner to stay away from a repair of this size, or go for it?

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

I would verify with a contractor whether or not that rehab number is accurate before buying anything. There's likely a reason they are willing to sell for that low.

Promotion
RentRedi
Smart Tech For The Smart Landlord
The Smart Way To Manage Your Rentals
Enjoy growing your portfolio without paying more for it. Unlimited units & easy-to-use apps.
Get Unlimited Units

I would be very wary of a house for $7K needing only $25K in repairs.  Make sure the numbers, rehab, foundation and other aspects of the house are accurate.

Originally posted by @Jake Parsons :

I am a beginner in real estate and have a good amount of cash ready to BRRRR. I am currently looking at a property in Detroit Michigan for $7k because it obviously needs repair, the seller says it should be about $25-30k in repairs and if that were the case I would still have a solid amount in reserves in case of emergency.

I have a rule that if it has foundational issues it’s not worth it. Assuming there is no foundational issues would you advise a beginner to stay away from a repair of this size, or go for it?

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!