Best Place to be a landlord in Colorado?

20 Replies

So hypothetically if someone wanted to invest in the surrounding Denver CO area, what are the better places to purchase residential multifamily (2-4 units) and why do you think they are the better markets for landlords?

Is there a high demand for renters in Castle Rock, CO?

Thanks in advance!

This sounds like a job for @Mark Ferguson . He is a very knowledgeable realtor in northern Colorado. His knowledge may go as far as Denver but let's give it a try.

Thanks @Jerry W. , I know a bit about the Denver market, @Anson Young or @Jon Holdman would know much more. In northern Colorado there is not much multifamily available at all. What is available is at terrible cap rates like 5%. I prefer single family in Colorado.

Mark Ferguson, Real Estate Agent in CO (#IA40029358)

@Jaren Barnes I have heard the the Pueblo area has reasonably priced Multi units, but it a much lower market C- or that range. I have no personal knowledge of that area.

Denver and surrounds are crazy overpriced right now if you are looking for cashflow.

Pueblo is cheaper but the rents are low.

Frankly, I would look elsewhere

hey everyone I really appreciate all the feedback!

What about Castle Rock or Colorado Springs are they better markets for land lording?

Originally posted by @Jaren Barnes :
hey everyone I really appreciate all the feedback!

What about Castle Rock or Colorado Springs are they better markets for land lording?

CO Springs is slightly better due to prices, Castle rock is about the same as Denver in terms of prices vs rents.

Anson Young, Real Estate Agent in CO (#14161n)

You could always develop real estate for buy and hold like we do. Or rehab and hold for single family. Our current project is a 8 unit apartment new build.

We create value by getting creative and renovating. Investing out of my natural market is out of my comfort zone.