Experience Investing in Detroit Metro Area?

36 Replies

Hi,

I'm a newbie living in the Detroit Metro area (Harper Woods specifically). I want to start to acquire rental properties in and around the area starting in the summer and sooner if possible. I am wondering if there is anyone here who has experience investing in and around Detroit. 

I specifically want to know how the experience has been for investors investing in the City of Detroit (as opposed to the surrounding communities) in terms of rentals and flips. Also, does anyone have experience in Saint Clair Shores, Grosse Pointe, Harper Woods, Eastpointe, Roseville, or Warren? (All surrounding communities of Detroit)

How has your investing experience been in the Detroit Metro area?

- Stewart Olney

Yes Stewart, there are a number of us in the Metro Detroit area here.

I have one in Roseville.  Behind the Macomb Mall.  Also Madison Heights and Lincoln Park.

I avoid Detroit unless you can buy massive amounts of land

I have a couple in SCS, Warren, GP Woods, and Clinton Twp. , I've done flips in Eastpointe, Clinton Twp, and Center Line. I too have stayed out of Detroit Proper thus far, no good reason other than the risk/reward factor. I find that I have a ton more issues getting rent payments on time along with increased repair costs in lower income areas. I have found it more profitable to pay a little more and receive higher rent returns and less hassles. There are still some decent deals to be had, you just have to look hard and be willing to do some renovations. 

Just my opinion...

There's a pretty good crew from MI here on BP.  Get at Tom Auterman to get added to the Metro Detroit investor meet up.  It's in different areas every month.  Great for meeting and networking with likeminded people. 

Haven't done any deals in those cities yet, but working on my first deal in St. Clair Shores and currently marketing for good deals in all those areas.