Central Florida and trailers....

9 Replies

Howdy guys and gals, I'm down here in the Gainesville and Ocala areas. Anyone down here feel like filling me in on trailers as investment properties (rentals)? Not looking to buy an entire trailer park. Just curious is it even worth the money to pick up seemingly affordable trailers on 1/4 acres or to fix up for rental properties.

Seems like the most common type of blue collar housing here.

I know a little already regarding metal roofing, newer being easier to finance, etc.

Does anyone else buy these?

Hi Sean, I’m a realtor in Gainesville and I work in the Branson area as well. I do have some investors that stick to mobile Homes and do very well. Around here you can get into a mobile home for a lot less than what a single-family home would cost. If you get a good enough deal to flip it there are plenty of people looking for move-in ready mobile homes or you can keep it as a buy-and-hold and do extremely well. Mobile homes do generally rent out for a little less than a single-family home but because of the land that normally comes with a mobile it can sometimes even itself out. 

If you need any help finding places let me know, I would be glad to help!

@Sean Ridlon there will always be a market for mobile homes, especially in the south.  I think they are cash cows and you can sell using owner financing without regard to Dodd Frank, since a mobile home is not real estate.

if it's an area where a lot of snow birds rent for the winter that's a good deal they usually take care of the places and don't make a big mess if it's a crackhead area that's another story