Rent Stabilized Apartment Building in NYC

2 Replies

I'm potentially looking to purchase a small rental building which falls under the NYC rent stabilized program. Looking to pick the brain of an experienced investor in this space in NYC as have some questions and running into a brick wall with DHCR.

Can you be a little more specific about the property and the type of rent stabilization program? For example I know a lot of older apartment buildings are rent stabilized by default. And then there are new programs. My apartment building is stabilized under the J-51 program which is an incentive for landlords to update older buildings as long as the keep the rents stabilized for a certain number of years. More information on your specific circumstance will help those knowledgable give you the best advice. I'm not an expert in the legal nuances of rent stabilization however as an NYC appraiser I have to tell you that rent stabilized tenants are a huge hindrance on the value of the property. You have to buy the tenants out of their lease and some will not move for any price. Even if delivered vacant it can take a considerable amount of time to legally de-regulate a stabilized building and it mostly requires you to have the units vacant for a period time (no cashflow). I could definitely see this being an obstacle for lenders and investors. Good luck!