San Gabriel Valley Flip

16 Replies

Hi BP Community,

I'm a new member - been devouring the podcasts, but this is my first time interacting in the forums!

I'm just starting a flip project in San Dimas, in the San Gabriel Valley in beautiful Southern California. I've participated in other people's flips before, but this is the first one I'm taking on as a personal project... super excited, a little bit nervous, learning as much as I can!!!

I just closed on a POS fixer property with TONS of potential, and I'm currently interviewing general contractors. The project is a gorgeous 1911 craftsman that has been completely gutted, and needs new EVERYTHING.

I'd love to start a dialogue here to engage with the BP community on this project.  I'll be happy to share good vendors, tips, cautionary tales, and anything I learn during the process to pay it forward. Look forward to connecting with some like-minded RE folks.

Cheers,
Marc Sinnott

@Marc Sinnott Best of luck with your project. I would like to keep up with it via this thread so thank you for your interest in sharing. I am in the local area and always looking to learn more about the markets outside of LA. Wishing you all the best man. - Ralph
Thanks for your response Jeffrey! After months of making offers on MLS fixers (some of which had up to SIXTY offers!!), door knocking, and sending out direct mailers in my target neighborhoods, I finally bit the bullet and went through a wholesaler. Very happy with the deal I got, although the due diligence process is very truncated.

Originally posted by @Jeffrey Almonte :

Congrats @Marc Sinnott on your flip project in San Dimas! Did you find this property through a wholesaler, direct mail, or the MLS?