Would like advice re: where to invest near NYC (or elsewhere)

12 Replies

Hi - I own a house in Brooklyn, NY, and will shortly be refinancing to pull out about $200k to invest in other properties. I am leaning toward multi-families because I have experience with this type of property but would consider other types of property.  I would probably prefer to remain near NYC, but would consider out-of-state also or even overseas.  I am fairly new to this (although I have owned my Brooklyn 2-family for twenty years), so I would appreciate any advice regarding where I can find the best deals.  Most (maybe all) of Brooklyn and NYC generally is probably out of my price range. I am considering the Philly and Jersey City areas (and DC or Chicago if the deal makes the distance worth it). An acquaintance recently bought a condo in Berlin, Germany with a 1.3% mortgage interest rate (to my amazement), so that's also appealing, although the city just approved a 5-year rent freeze.  I'm obviously having difficulties focusing, so any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!!

@Karl Kauper @Karl Kauper what are your goals? Cash flow or appreciation? You could probably find a small multi family in Bushwick for around 1 Million. You’re probably not going to be cash flow positive in most areas of NYC though. If you want cash flow over appreciation you’ll have to look either in the South or Midwest. Plenty of cash flow cities in FL GA TN MO TX OK.

@Karl Kauper , I love an expression that 'The Real Estate Guys' use, "Live where you want to live, but invest where the numbers make sense". There is a ton of valuable content on BP that can help you identify a market, analyze that market for key economic indicators e.g. employment growth, wage growth, population growth etc., build a team of partners and start finding deals remotely. Dave Green is one person that springs to mind. Good luck