1031 Exchange and VA Loans... Any thoughts?

8 Replies

I am relatively new to the BP community, however, my wife and I have been listening to podcasts for a few months now. We purchased our first home in January utilizing the VA loan. I want to start a discussion with those who have some experience with VA loans and if anyone has used the 1031 exchange with a property that was purchased with said loan. We are leaning towards moving into house hacking with a triplex or quad. Does anyone have experience in a 1031 exchange with a VA loan?

How did it go?

What were some of the hurdles you had to get over?

Were the property specifications any different? 

I am attempting to find out options as we want to try and avoid paying capital gains tax on this property and still be able to get a positive cash flowing rental property. 

Any advice or experiences are greatly appreciated! 

Thanks in advance,

Ryan 

I don't have information regarding the VA loan.

But just know that if you move into a duplex/triplex and house hack only the rental portion will qualify for a 1031. 

The primary home portion will qualify for a primary residence 121 exclusion though and you can combine the two. 

@Ryan Jones , The VA does allow you to go up to 4 units for a loan. So like @Natalie Kolodij said, the portion that you live in will be tax free when you sell.  The rest of the property will be in your 1031 exchange.   We've worked with many clients who moved or were redeployed and kept their property as a rental and later 1031d it.  

I''m tagging @Johnny Quilenderino here.  He did a masterful job of using his service time to build an incredible portfolio and then move it to his final home all using 1031 exchanges.