Looking for a general contractor in Lynchburg, Virginia

2 Replies

Hello everyone!

I am new to this, and the extent of my experience is minimal. I have done a ton of research in the last month or so, but I am now moving forward in search of a property to fix and flip. I know the key to making money will be finding a great deal and also finding a contractor that is familiar with working with investors and providing service that is below market price. I’m located in Lynchburg, Virginia and was wondering if anyone here knows of one or some trustworthy general contractors that work with investors. I am not interested in finding sub contractors as this is my first flip and I am unfamiliar with the rehabbing process and order of work needed. I would also appreciate hearing your technique of finding the contractors that you work with! Going to Home Depot early in the morning to scout out people purchasing material is difficult for me as I have two very small children at home. Thank you for your help.

@Carissa Meek When I interview General Contractors, I ask the following questions.

1. How many homes have you rehabbed and/ or renovated? What was the magnitude, of your projects?

2. How many projects is your company currently undertaking?

3. Do you work with Investors that need to adhere to strict timelines and scope of work?

4. Do you have multiple Sub Contractors, for similar trade skills, such as plumbers, electricians, flooring crews, painters, etc.?

5. Would you be willing to provide a copy of your GC License, your Certificate of General Liability Insurance, and your Certificate of Workman's Compensation Insurance?

6. Are you bonded?

NOTE:

To be “bonded” means the Contractor must purchase a Surety Bond, which serves as a form of Insurance to protect the Contractor’s Customers if he or she fails to complete the job properly or fails to pay for permits, subcontractors, or other financial obligations.