$43,900 rental investment

11 Replies

I am new to blogging! don't destroy me! Please be honest.

I have found some apartments that are selling for $43,900. These are located near a university with 13,000 students and will continue to grow according to planning an facilities.

2 bed, 2 bath

Rent: $750

Expenses: $280

Net: $470

I have three solid rentals that cashflow-flow and are paid for. This is something different for me, but i am interested. I would like to buy into this deal while snowballing to pay this one off. It is in a good area, located right next to the school, less than .2 of a mile. There isn't much room for appreciation or improvement to these buildings as they were built in 1984. possibly minor interior upgrades.

Main reasons I am interested:

1. Located Next to a university with plenty of rental demand.

2. I will be able to pay this property off quickly and use the cash-flow to continue investing.

Cons:

1. This is 80% student occupied.

2. Again theres only one main market, students.

I have ran the numbers in depth inside and out. This would be a long term hold and rental. Is it a bad idea to invest in something so cheap, with one market group? Opinions? Advice?

Thanks

Your expenses seem low. Are there HOA fees? Have you factored vacancies (assuming you rent only 10 out of 12 months to students attending the university)?

I know a few people that own a TON of apartments and houses they turn into apartments near PSU. I don't believe anyone only rents out during the school year term as most students will stick around during the summers due to jobs or extra classes, some will sublet (if allowed) if do are leaving for the summer. They almost always have the parents co-sign so they have someone to collect from if issues do arise. It's a pretty safe investment, if the numbers work of course, as there is always demand.