This may sound odd but...

7 Replies

why are investors so helpful to each other? You don't see this in other businesses. It's getting harder to find flips these days. So while I appreciate all the help, I do wonder do you guys ever feel like you are creating a competition problem? I see all these books and YouTube videos and wonder why people share their secrets. Again as a beginner I'm not complaining. But you don't see mcdonalds telling Burger King how to make a burger.

I'm not a flipper, buy n hold only. With that being said, BP, although a community, is more like a family. We are all here to help each other succeed. Everyone here tends to share with one another be it a seasoned investor or a noob :) it's just how we are!

John -

I notice the same thing, and have asked myself the same question. After gaining more experience in this though, here are my thoughts:

-People enjoy associating with other that have like minded interests. There aren't as many people as I expected who are passionate about real estate investment, and who chose to immerse themselves in the industry. For that reason, when 2 investors connect, there is an unspoken instant respect, regardless of experience level.

-There are a TON of opportunities to go around. Even in my competitive there are deals to be had. You just have to know where to look. Just take a look around on your next drive. Or look at an arial view of any major city. It is hard to digest how much property is out there, but everybody needs a roof over their heads! Experienced investors know this and aren't intimidated by someone just starting out looking to buy or flip a few properties at a time.