Condo Deal

8 Replies

Hi all,

Please help me analyze this deal for a condo.

Asking Price: $43,000
Offer Price: $40,000
Down Payment: $8,000
Rent: $900 per month
Monthly payment with mortgage, insurance, HOA. $400
Property Management $100 per month

What do you think?

Should have said HOA includes water and some maintenance. Area is not bad, but not great either.

I am new to this myself but I will give it a shot.

Any BP members out there, please correct me if I am off with any of these rough figures.

First, the monthly rent is 2.25% of your offered price, which is good.

For the deal, let's figure a couple thousand for closing costs, due diligence, fees, etc to secure the deal, which puts you at $10k when we include the down payment. If your mortgage, HOA, etc is 400 per month, and your expenses will be roughly half your gross rent, then you will clear $50 per month after everything is accounted for.

So:

Cash on Cash return=$600/year = 6% of your $10k

Amortization of approx $200 per month in mortgage expenses = $2400/year = 24% of your $10k

A more optimistic assumption would be $100 per month cash on cash since some of your expenses will be covered by your HOA fees. This would mean $1200 per year or 12% cash on cash return.

This all assumes that this is a turnkey property with no major rehab needed at purchase. It also doesn't fully account for vacancy rates for the area and other things more experienced analysts can estimate better than I.

That being said, in my own searches for properties, I have aimed for no more than $40k per door, with around a $100 per door cash on cash return after expenses. IMHO, you are in the right ballpark, you just need to run the numbers and make sure you are accounting for all known variables. Be sure to look at as many records as you can get your hands on. Bank statements, monthly expenses and bills, HOA agreements, etc. That way you can double check your figures against historical data.

Good luck!