what percentage of the profits fo I get?

9 Replies

Im new in this and was wondering what I should get out of a flip profit. 

Here is the scenario. 

I work with an investor/realter in one. He finances the house and the rehab material. I put in the labor. I find the house. And I rehab with my own labor. 

Im also paying taxes and holding costs/ utilities. 

I know there might not be a exact answer but can we get close? 

Im in the processes of learning with this investor/realter

being mentored and set up to do these flips on my own. 

Thank you!

Welcome to the site, @Victor Panasyuk  

This sounds like the usual money partner/rehabber arrangement.  You do all the work, he provides all the money.  The typical split is 50/50.  The money you're spending on holding costs and utilities is an expense, so you get reimbursed for those before computing profit.  Taxes typically come out at the two closings on a flip.  Usually property taxes are paid in arrears.  So, you pay taxes for 2014 in the spring of 2015 or the end of 2014.  When you buy, you get a credit from the seller for the partial year taxes and then when you sell you have to give the buyer a larger credit for the larger partial year.  That includes the credit your received from original seller, so your net tax payment is for the time you owned it. 

I assume the investor/realtor would get their commissions on the purchase and then sales of the house.  Those would also be expenses, not part of his profit.

You should  be sure you have this decided and written down before you start on the deal.

Jon Holdman, Flying Phoenix LLC