What's the catch, buy and hold in Charlotte

4 Replies

Hi, I'm completely new at this and trying to learn how to analyze deals.

Ideally I'd like to make my first deal in the next 6 months.

I'm basically trying to get my feet wet, go through the entire process so that I understand it better and get a concrete understanding of what I don't know.

To that end I would appreciate it if you could help me analyze this deal for practice.

The property seems to be under market price, cash flow seems to be positive. If I want to make a small investment on my first property, what is the catch?

http://www.zillow.com/homedetails/5803-Hunting-Rid...

Thanks in advance!

Zillow Zestimates are crap. Market prices are what properties are actually selling for, not what some website with no skin in the game zestimates they are worth...

C sold for $23K 18 months ago, and B sold for $11K about 14 months ago.

HOA fee being so high is what's keeping the price of these units so low, IMO.

Hey Bram,

The catch is that the HOA dues are $172.06 per month. This includes 2 special assessments, as 1 was not covering all of the capital improvement needs. The buildings are over 40 years old and are very expensive to maintain. The rent would likely be around $450-500. There are just a lot of concerns when dealing with an HOA fee that seems to be increasing much more quickly than the rents.

Take care,

Zann

Bram,

As a general rule I try to avoid HOA's, unless they are low cost. My neighborhood is $15/month which coves some street lights, a little bit of landscaping and a play ground. Watch out for places that advertise "regime fees" usually associated with condo's or a place that someone wants to keep managing but doesn't want ownership responsibilities. I would also shoot for two bed-room at a minimum for apartments and 3 bedroom for SFHs, they are easier to rent. You want a place that someone can keep if their family situation changes, getting married, having kids etc.