My first MFH (4 unit) in Houston I want to purchase - review #s? (in HOA)

7 Replies

Disclaimer: I'm new to real estate investing (this would be my first property) - but I've spent a lot of time reading and researching.

I have a 4 unit MFH under contract, which I'm considering purchasing, and wanted to get a second set of eyeballs to ensure I'm not overlooking anything. For anyone that knows Houston, the property is near Westheimer and BW8, just a bit west.

Purchase price: 150,000

4 units, all filled. Average rent $750/each, this:

Gross monthly income: $3,000

Property in reasonable condition, no repairs needed.

Property Taxes: ~$3500

Monthly expenses - ~$810 - this includes $700/month HOA

Cash flow, with a 30 year mortgage, is ~$1k, which gives a ~40% cash on cash return.

note: the $1k above doesnt account for the 50% rule. It'd be less with the 50% rule if HOA is accounted for.

How does the above sound? A few questions/feedback I'd love to get:

1. Anyone familiar with the area? I live in Houston, but not sure of the specific area

2. What can I expect closing costs to be? (I'm a newbie investor)

3. Anything I should consider?

4. How do people rate the deal?

Thanks

@Steven Rogers

To find out about an area go to IREM.org search for ARM certified property managers. Call 5 ask them what sides of the city they like/dislike and why. Ask what they see them selling for and what expenses are by category. Ask for market occupancy and rents. Ask if they know anything coming up for sale.

@Steven Rogers  

That area isnt to bad. Within a couple miles of that area you will find 300-400,000 dollar homes (and higher) and is close to what we call "The Energy Corridor" which is where a lot of oil and gas companies have set up shop. Halliburton, BP, Phillips 66 to name a few. Hope this helps.

HI @Steven Rogers  ,