Gentrifying neighborhoods in Tampa

12 Replies

Hello,

I am looking to further expand my rental portfolio in the Tampa area. Although I am located in the Philadelphia area, I have owned and rented out a townhouse in Westchase since 2012, so I have a basic understanding of the city.

This time around, I would like to invest in a part of Tampa that is not currently an A neighborhood like Westchase, but is undergoing the early stages of gentrification and still contains properties that cash flow. Does anyone have suggestions on neighborhoods that fit that description?

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Rick

I am not an expert on Tampa. I am just going off what I have heard.

Southeast Seminole Heights

Tampa Heights

I have also seen some flips in Carver City, which is not great but borders Westshore/International Plaza area.

Google Tampa Heights, the city is spending a lot of money redeveloping this area.  Seminole heights is also an artsy neighborhood that is "cool".  These are very different demographics compared to West Chase.  You can probably get 20% Cash on Cash return.  Beware of old wood houses they may need a lot of work.

Additionally the Riverview/Apollo Beach area is about to have a new hospital open, these are more suburban areas, but they are experiencing growth.