Help analyze 4plex for Buy&Hold

9 Replies

L&G,

Trying to start on my next deal. I have 2 properties that are doing reasonably ok, but feel like I still lack experience when it comes to analyzing deals, especially MF.  How does this 4plex numbers look?

• Price: $200K
  • HOA, Insurance,Tax Combined: $1050 monthly (verified on P&L)
  • Est. Mortgage: $750 ( regular investment loan, 20% down)
  • Monthly Revenue: $3,000

I plan to manage it myself for now, but it will go under PM sooner or later. Would love to hear your thoughts on this. Thanks!

Im not an expert by any means. But with those numbers I would definitely go for it. It seems like a pretty good deal to me. But I lack the experience and knowledge of owning a 4plex so I'm not really sure what the numbers on that kind of deal typically look like.

Good Luck!

Maintenance, vacancy, and pm at 30% (10% each) 900.00. 750 mortgage, 1050 tax HOA and insurance... Leaving you a 300 dollar profit. Personally I will not look at a property with an HOA. All depends on your goals and what'll you want out of it.

Originally posted by @Kyle Penland :

Maintenance, vacancy, and pm at 30% (10% each) 900.00. 750 mortgage, 1050 tax HOA and insurance... Leaving you a 300 dollar profit. Personally I will not look at a property with an HOA. All depends on your goals and what'll you want out of it.

Just learning, but why would you not look at a property with an HOA?

It just eats in to your profit and the major negative is they can vote to do major repairs and you fit the bill and nothing you can do about it. For example my first flip where I fought the HOA AND LOST was awful. My mortgage was 550.00 ( I was in college and had no money) and then HOA voted to paint the buildings, and do work on the pool. It changed my HOA from 295.00 monthly to 595. For three months. If that happens to you in this deal, you will be cash flow negative. Just a bad experience that I had and it influenced me forever.

Hi @Michael L.