• Accountant
  • Joplin, MO
Votes |
Four Duplex Property With Seller Assisted Zero Down Financing

Josh LeMasters
  • Accountant
  • Joplin, MO
Posted Feb 21 2015, 13:21

This is my first post on the forum. I've been listening to the podcast for the last several months, and snooping around the forums. REI is something I have been interested in for several years, but I have always hesitated to pull the trigger. I generally suffer from a big case of analysis paralysis in most areas of my life. A year and a half ago I pulled the trigger on going back to school for an accounting degree. I quickly landed a solid Corporate accounting gig, which has provided a steady income and a base for investing. I'm a couple months from finishing the CPA exam, and now seems like the right time to pull the trigger on investing.

I'm interested in buy and hold rentals and I originally thought our (my wife and I) first deal would be a live in duplex in our home town. However, a property with four duplexes ( for $399,000) popped up on my radar. The idea of not just starting my portfolio but kicking it into high gear was attractive to me.  I checked the local assessor's website and it turned out I knew the owner from high school. I found him on Facebook and we started talking about the property and my interest in investing. That gives you some of my back ground. Now on to the property details: 

Price: 399,000

Details: 4 Duplexes - 8 units with 2 bedroom, 1 bath 1 car garage ~900 sq/ft built in the 80's. All electric. Heated with electric base board heaters. AC is window units built in to the wall (probably my least favorite part about the units). Exterior is brick front with vinyl siding. The units are on a well and each building has it's own septic system. The units are a little out dated, but otherwise appear to be in decent shape.