Condo vs Single Family Homes

8 Replies

I'm debating where to make my first investment for a rental property.  I have always considered a single family but I'm now thinking a condo might be safer way to go since I'm still new. 

Any words of wisdom from experienced landlords??

I'm not very experienced but I do know you need to watch out for HOA with condos. Any little income you can make can quickly be eaten up by HOA fees if you're not careful. Due diligence is a must

Condos, depending on rules and fees, can be scary. We bought our first condo recently, and it will be our last. The condo fees have gone up each year, the condo board does not seem particularly fiscally responsible with owners' money, and you never know what special assessments or rules are coming down the pike. If a certain majority of owners decides to ban rentals from the complex, there is nothing you can do to stop it. There are FHA rules for how many owner-occupied units are needed for the complex to qualify for FHA financing, and that can affect unit owners' decisions. We felt relatively safe buying ours as they had just gone through an over $16K per unit special assessment several years earlier for new roof and siding and had raised the condo fees to build the reserves up so it doesn't happen again. They did not mention, however, in any of the documents we received before closing that the pool house needs major work and the sewer system is old and breaking, likely both expensive repairs coming up shortly, draining the reserves. Apparently, they don't have to disclose things like that if they are just in the evaluation stage.

I do not like condos. HOA fees reduces your cash flow and your pocket in case of vacancy. You need to deal with HOA for any repairs on the exterior. Sometimes they are not quick to respond.

Some associations have requirements and a tenant approval process that reduces your chances to find a tenant. Some HOAs take up to 30 days to approve or deny a prospect.