Limited Liablity Corporation

8 Replies

Should I establish an LLC before making any real estate investment deals? Is it safe to operate without one? Thoughts on establishing a trust that owns the LLC?

Most experienced investors will say don't worry about it until you've done a deal. I didn't have one when I did my first deal but now I'm working on my second one and I just sent off my paperwork to get it registered. I think it's a personal preference but you will eventually need it if you plan to be making money.

I chose to form a LLC right away. In IL it costs $500 to form and $250 annually, but it makes me look more professional to my tenants, and gives me some basic asset protection according to our attorney. We also increased our liability insurance to $2 million. It's not that expensive to do.

Good luck!

Dawn,  Ask your Real Estate Lawyer.

I am no expert. here forming an LLC is $50, can be done online in about 30 minutes. annual taxes are $150. I currently have 3 of them. All different businesses. One is in the form of a trust and then the LLC.

Now for the importance of: If for some reason you get sued. The LLC gets the brunt of the legal action. Not you personally. although they will try to sue you personally. I have been on both side of the legal action. One i won case against llc. judge kicked out personal suit.

The other action was against me. I wasn't covered by a LLC. lets just say 25K later (legal fees) . selling of personal assets to pay those legals, refinancing a home . Do I need to say more. $50 bucks was a very cheap insurance policy. I sure got an expensive education.

Again Let me say 

I AM NOT A LAWYER,  DON"T REPRESENT A LAWYER. AND DO NOT GIVE LEGAL ADVISE.