Analysis of a Potential Rental

14 Replies

I am still learning the rental business and would like some thoughts on this deal for a rental. What would you rate this deal, scale 1-5? 

Purchase: $160,000

3 bed, 1.5 bath in Fontana, Southern California

1110 sq ft condo

Two Story Unit, patio gated with parking entry, new cabinets with granite counter tops, new stainless steel appliances, new paint, laminated wood flooring, new carpet, new bathroom vanity and toilets, new shower tub, new blinds. Washer/dryer hook ups located in private closet area, so I would need to buy a washer/dryer. 

Looks like it was fixed up for a flip, so it's just about ready for a tenant.

It would pull in $1350 in rent.

Unfortunately, it has HOA dues of $275/month.

Please rate this deal as is, say a 3 out of 5? What are the issues with this deal. What price would make this deal make sense. Etc. I appreciate the advice. Thank you. 

"0".  Where's the profit?  Why are you buying this as a rental?

Here is what I see:

1350         Rent
- 275 HOA
-760          Mortgage (4%/30 yrs
315          Money left
-135         PM
-???         Taxes
-???         Insurance
-???        Cash Flow (I'm guessing this is a negative number)

Don't buy rental with negative cash flow.   

Actually, after running these incomplete numbers, I have a new rating

= -5 (that's negative 5)

Hi Joe,