• Springfield, MA
Votes |
My first hoarder house deal!

Eric Bousquet
  • Real Estate Investor
  • Springfield, MA
Posted Apr 8 2015, 17:44

Hello Everyone,

My name is Eric, I'm a General Contractor and REI from the Western MA/Springfield, MA area.

I'm about to put an offer in on my next property and I was hoping to run the details by everyone and see if I could get some feedback.

The property was brought to my attention last week and I made contact with the homeowner set up a time to come see it. The property is a mid-50's 3bdrm 1.5 bath 1100 sq ft Cape on a 1/3 of an acre. It is located in a nice town but on a main road. It is not listed on the MLS.

I was able to secure funding through a hard money lender so I'm confident I can close in 3 weeks if we can make a deal. 

To my surprise when I drove up I actually did work on this property about 8 years ago. My company put a commercial grade flat roof on the back section of the roof. So I know that's good. ;) she had also had the shingle roof replaced, new siding and new replacement windows done before she got sick.

Now the bad; the elderly woman who had ben living there had developed dementia over the years and became a hoarder. So the home is chock full of things, trash, furniture and general filth. And fallen into much disrepair. She passed in Nov and her daughter has since inherited the home and is on a fixed income and cannot do much of anything with it. She was actually having a hard time even being in the house and had to have her fiancée walk me through.