Would like some feedback on my latest rental purchase

17 Replies

I've been doing this for a few years now and feel like I know what I am doing, but I also know it's good to get feedback from other investors to keep myself in check. I guess I'm looking for validation that I am on the right path.

Anyway, here is my latest deal. Thoughts?

Purchase Price and closing costs - $30,000

Rehab -               $5,000

All in Price -         $35,000

Market rent is  $750 a month but I like to go below market to get it rented fast. So $725 for rent.

Gross Annual Revenue - $8,700

Effective Gross Revenue (10% vacancy)  - $7,830

Expenses

Mortgage 15 year at 5% (15% down) - $2,820 per year  ($235/month)

Taxes - $400 per year

Insurance - $500 per year

Capex 10%- $830 per year

Routine Maintenance 10% - $830 per year

Property Management 10% - $830 per year (although I do self manage)

Profit of $1,620 per year

Thanks for your time.

what's the timeline for your major maintenance (roof, furnace, water heater) ?

@Christopher McGuire  Some might say that your vacancy rate and cap ex allowances are too low, given the very low starting price from which to deduct your "standardized percentages" off. That is to say, the lower the purchase price, (usually) the riskier the neighborhood, and the higher the percentage that should be allowed for vacancy and cap ex (because for example, a new roof costs much the same whether the property cost $30k or $200k).

Looks like there is plenty of wriggle-room though. I say, well done. Cheers...

Roof has about 5 years left.

Water Heater is new

Heat/AC unit is new

Thanks, Brent. This is actually a relatively decent part of town. B/C neighborhood. I agree with your capex comments. I may need to revise those estimates going forward.

Appreciate you guys responding. 

from my research, not from hand on experience, capex will be greater than what you've assumed. At least $200 per month.